Posted by: Thixia | January 14, 2009

Overactive Bladder 3 of 6

When to see your doctor

 

 

Many people wait far too long before seeing a doctor about symptoms of overactive bladder (OAB).  In one survey, over half of respondents waited more than a year before seeking treatment.  By this time, symptoms may be seriously affecting your personal and social life.  That is far too long to put up with a condition that can be successfully treated. 

 

Visit your doctor as soon as you think you may have OAB.  Not sure if you have OAB? Take the Overactive Bladder Assessment Questionnaire below.  You can use the Doctor Discussion Guide to help you get ready for your doctor’s visit. 

 

If you’re already being treated for OAB, see your doctor if you think your treatment might not be working (but keep in mind that treatments may take 2 to 4 weeks to work, and it may several weeks before you see the full effects), if you have questions about your treatment, or if your symptoms have changed. 

 

 

 

 

Overactive Bladder Questionnaire

The questions below ask about how bothered you may be by some bladder symptoms.  Some people are bothered by bladder symptoms and may not realize that there are treatments available for their symptoms.

Please circle the score that best describes how much you have been bothered by each symptom.  Add the numbers together for a total score and record the score in the boxes provided at the bottom.

Top of Form

HOW BOTHERED HAVE YOU BEEN BY.  .  .

Not at all

A little bit

Somewhat

Quite a bit

A great deal

A very great deal

 

Frequent urination during the day?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

An uncomfortable urge to urinate?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

A sudden urge to urinate with little or no warning?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

Accidental loss of small amounts of urine?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

Nighttime urination?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

Being woken up at night because you had to urinate?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

An uncontrollable urge to urinate?

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

Urine loss associated with a strong urge to urinate?

0

1

2

3

4

5

Are you a male? If male, add 2 points to your score

Please add up your responses to the questions above

Please give this page to your doctor when you see him/her for your visit.

If your score is 8 or more, you may have an Overactive Bladder.  There are effective treatments for this condition.  You may want to talk with a healthcare professional about your symptoms.

Bottom of Form

Overactive Bladder Doctor Discussion Guide

You don’t have to put up with OAB! In order for your doctor to help you find the best treatment, he or she needs to know exactly what you’re experiencing.  In other words, what symptoms you are having, how bothersome the symptoms are, and how often you are having them. 

It may be hard for you to talk to your doctor about OAB and the symptoms you’re experiencing.  Therefore, this Doctor Discussion Guide was created specifically to help people with OAB get the conversation started and to help you have a productive discussion with your doctor about your OAB. 

Check off what applies to you, or fill in the blanks where required, then print your answers and bring them to your doctor’s visit.

I’d like to talk about my bladder symptoms (check all that apply):

Top of Form

How bothered have you been by…

Not at all

A little bit

Somewhat

Quite a bit

A great deal

A very great deal

 

frequent urination during the day

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

an uncomfortable urge to urinate

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

a sudden urge to urinate with little or no warning

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

an uncontrollable urge to urinate

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

accidental loss of small amounts of urine

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

urine loss associated with a strong urge to urinate

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

nighttime urination

0

1

2

3

4

5

 

being woken up at night by the need to urinate

0

1

2

3

4

5

Add up the total score, then add 2 points for men.  If your total score is 8 or greater, you may have OAB.

How often do you need to go to the bathroom?

I tend to urinate:

0 to 3 times per day

4 to 7 times per day

8 or more times per day

At night, I urinate:

0 to 3 times per night

4 to 7 times per night

8 or more times per night

I get woken up at night to urinate:

0 to 3 times per night

4 to 7 times per night

8 or more times per night

Treatments (check all that apply):

Non-Medication Treatments

I’m using it

I’d like to learn more

lifestyle changes

 

 

Kegel exercises (pelvic floor muscle retraining)

 

 

bladder training

 

 

functional electrical stimulation

 

 

biofeedback

 

 

surgery

 

 

Medication Treatments

Detrol LA® (tolterodine extended release; once daily)

 

 

Detrol® (tolterodine immediate release; twice daily)

 

 

Ditropan XL® (oxybutynin extended release; once daily)

 

 

Ditropan® (oxybutynin immediate release; two to three times daily)

 

 

Enablex® (darifenacin extended release; once daily)

 

 

Oxytrol® (oxybutynin patch; twice weekly)

 

 

Trosec® (trospium; twice daily)

 

 

Uromax® (oxybutynin controlled release; once daily)

 

 

Vesicare® (solifenacin; once daily)

 

 

Bladder issues that are bothering me:

See my answers to the Quality of Life tool for some bladder issues that are bothering me and an estimate of how much they impact my life.

I also have some other concerns:

For people not receiving treatment for OAB:

I’m not sure whether I have OAB.
I’m wondering if I might need treatment for my bladder symptoms.
Other:
Other:

For people currently receiving treatment for OAB:
I’m not sure if my treatment is working.
I’m concerned about side effects from my treatment.
I’m concerned that my treatment may interact with medications I’m taking.
I’m not sure how to use my treatment.
Other:
Other:

If a new treatment is recommended, I have some questions:

How much will this treatment help my symptoms?

When can I expect it to start working?

What can I do if I’m not sure whether my treatment is working?

How do I use the treatment?

How long should I use the treatment for?

What side effects should I expect?

Are there any changes I should make to my lifestyle?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bottom of Form

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Compliments of:
© 1996 – 2009 MediResource Inc.  – Targeted Health Solutions

Leave a Reply

Categories

