Posted by: Thixia | June 19, 2008

Affirmations For Building Self-esteem

 

 

 

I am a valuable and important person, and I’m worthy of the respect of others.

I am my own expert, and I allow others the same privilege.

I express my ideas easily, and I know others respect my point of view.

I am aware of my value system and confident of the decisions I make based on my current awareness.

I have a positive expectancy of reaching my goals, and I bounce back quickly from temporary setbacks.

I have pride in my past performance and a positive expectancy of the future.

I accept compliments easily and share my success with others who have contributed to them.

I feel warm and loving toward myself, for I am a unique and precious being, ever doing the best my awareness permits, ever growing in wisdom and love.

I am actively in charge of my life and direct it in constructive channels. My primary responsibility is for my own growth and well being (the better I feel about myself, the more willing and able I am to help others.)

I am my own authority (and I am not affected by negative opinions or attitudes of others.)

It is not what happens to me, but how I handle it, that determines my emotional well being.

I’m a success to the degree that I feel warm and loving toward myself.

No one in the entire world is more or less worthy, more or less important, than I.

I count my blessings and rejoice in my growing awareness.

I am an action person; I do first things first and one thing at a time.

I am warm and friendly toward all I contact; I treat everyone with consideration and respect.

I am kind, compassionate and gentle with myself.

 

 

 

 

 

Responses

  1. Hi Bonnie,

    I have Secondary Progressive Multiple Sclerosis. I am able to walk,talk and think. My working and short term memory is very bad. The more stressed I become, the less able I am too think. I forget names of people and places the majority of the time.

    I care for my brother, in my husband and my home. He has Down’s Syndrome, had a stroke in the end of 2003 or the first part of 2004, he has severe sleep apnea, seizure disorder, chronic bronchitus and Cerebrovascular disease (similar to Alzheimer’s disease). He is unable to communicate his wants and needs. He cannot control his bladder or bowels. I live my life for his life and happiness. My day to day living is like a boring broken record. The stress of worrying if my brother is happy takes a big toll on me. He also has a chronic problem with pressure sores on his bottom. He has an alternating, low air loss, pressure mattress bed and seat. Whenever I clean up his BM’s, I apply Calmoseptine to his whole bottom and groin area. I give him his medications in the morning and a nebulizer treatment 3 or 4 times a day. I put an Auto-Bipap with a humdifier on him every night. I clean his external catheter bags and Auto-Bipap Mask and attachments everyday. I empty his catheter leg bags when in use by my brother.

    He is like an angel to me and is the most wonderful person I have ever known. We grew up and played together. He will never be in a nursing home as long as I live.

    The problem is I feel like I am stuck between a rock and a hard place. I am permanently disabled due to my poor working and short term memory, which worsens with stress. My prosessing of information has slowed and I suffer with severe lassitude (dabilitating fatigue). I feel very weak and it is very hard for me to motivate myself to do anything. Just getting myself to wash my face and hands and brush my teeth seems like a major task for me. I have nerve pain and neuropathy in my arms and legs. I have to take many medications every day. I have a remarkable lack of deep and REM sleep. I have to take pills for Major Depressive Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, to stay awake during the day and pills to go to sleep at night; pills so I can have bowel movements, pills for high cholesterol, vitamins, supplements and Omega 3, 6 and 9. I feel like a walking pharmacy. I am depressed most of the time and really just exist, I have no life of my own. I feel like a drone.

    However, to look at me you would think I am perfectly normal, which makes things worse when worrying about how other people judge me. It is like a living nightmare that never ends.


Leave a Reply

Categories

