Posted by: Thixia | April 21, 2008

Diagram – Spinal Needle

 

 

A lumbar puncture, or spinal tap, is a procedure to collect cerebrospinal fluid to check for the presence of disease or injury. A spinal needle is inserted, usually between the 3rd and 4th lumbar vertebrae in the lower spine. Once the needle is properly positioned in the subarachnoid space (the space between the spinal cord and its covering, the meninges), pressures can be measured and fluid can be collected for testing.

 

Lumbar puncture (spinal tap) picture
Responses

  1. Hi! i was slip while walking at the slippery floor of my home and my backbone tease me to get up after sitting and can’t walk of stand without any help. my X-rays are somehow clear.

    please suggest me what should i do now.

    waiting for ur kind response.

  2. Hi, I would suggest that you ask for an MRI of your spine.

  3. Oh, yes, I have definetly had an MRI of my brain and spine. At the time that I had the LP there were no MRI’s available in my region.


Leave a Reply

Categories

